An Adventure up Elizabeth Street

I must admit, I have grown lazy. Actually no, let me rephrase that. I’ve grown comfortable.

You all know that I have an irrational inadequacy complex. If you don’t, and you are new to my blog, I suggest that you venture over to my “My Irrational Inadequacy Complex” post, before continuing through this lovely little read. But anyway. A while ago I discovered a brilliant little laneway cafe called Bean and it became my new favourite city jaunt. I was proud of myself for defeating my irrational inadequacy complex and relieved when it turned out so well. So relieved, in fact, that I have not been exploring any other cute cafes, as I said I would.

I grew comfortable. This is terrible. For the sake of the life of this blog, it could not continue. I must continue forth on my journey to overcome this complex and experience all fun coffee shops in Brisbane city. Luckily, today is a cool drizzly day and I often find I am at my most adventurous when it is raining. So that’s what I did. I went on an adventure. What did I discover on this adventure? A little coffee shop called Bonsai Botanika

IMG_1285

Entering this coffee shop, you are hit with a wonderful mix of classic French country decor, the rustic edge of deli products secured artistically in glass cabinets and the hipster flair of fake grass, rose gold lighting, wooden ceilings, and a dramatic display of fancy cold brew towers. It is inviting, homey, and a comfortable escape from the cold bite of the rainy outdoors. So far, so good.

IMG_1264 IMG_1272 IMG_1267

Next let’s have a look at the menu, shall we?
As a uni student with a love of coffee and a wallet that is short of money, I don’t go to cafes for the food. I go for the coffee. What did I find? Heaven. So many options it was difficult to decide.

IMG_1261

You not only have cold brew. You have the option of chemex cold brew or Kyoto cold brew. Do you want to choose your roast? Well they’ve got that covered too. How about you throw some chocolate ganache into the mix, just to be super fancy. Do you want to be out there and try some Japanese Rice Tea? They say go for it. I’m all about the variety. These guys have got that down.

Naturally I ordered a Kyoto cold brew in a medium roast, despite the cold weather, because I wanted to explore the wonders of a medium brew from Kyoto (#yolo). What did I get? Crushed ice, and coffee and milk presented in cute little conical flasks. Ummm, yes.

IMG_1278 IMG_1276

Flavour? Amazing.

Now, although I’m not eating food, from where I am sitting (yes I am so excited I’m actually writing the blog post about the cafe whilst still at the cafe), I can see the menu. We’ve got pancakes, quiches, french toast, rice pudding, noix cake and any number of other fun times that I can’t quite decipher from this distance. There are pastries and cakes in the cake cabinet and just so many good times, I can’t even. I also just spotted a choice in hot chocolates between swiss white chocolate, 32% milk chocolate, 67% Madagascan dark chocolate and 70% dark chocolate. What is this place. This is magical.

For some people, the service is also important so I shall say this. Everyone here is welcoming and friendly and the service is quite fast. There is a bar up on the second level as well for anyone who cares about that and it’s not too busy so I would consider this as quite a comfortable little hideaway from the life of the city. The only thing I will say is that this place isn’t particularly cheap. But honestly, for the quality and choice you are getting, this is to be expected.

Overall, I’m in love. If you want somewhere that has a nice open feel, with a rustic charm and an endless choice with food and beverages then please, Bonsai Botanika will be your slice of heaven. It’s on Elizabeth street, just around the corner from Topshop, so is fairly close to the heart of the city and it is definitely worth the venture.

Whilst Bean remains my favourite for its cosy atmosphere that is inevitable in an underground setting, this is definitely a new favourite to add to the list. So friends, go forth and drink coffee.

-Alice

Leave a Reply

